Pre-Register now! ACRL National- Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group- Greater NYC Virtual Meeting- Fri Aug 4, (3:00pm-4:30pm)

Pre-Register Now! 

ACRL National
Library Marketing & Outreach Interest Group (LMOIG)
(Greater NYC Meetup)

Library Programs Promoting Mental Wellness: Strategic Planning and Development

Pre-Register via Zoom —>  

Summer 2023 virtual meeting

Fri Aug 4, 2023

3:00pm-4:30pm via Zoom meeting (Eastern)

For our Summer 2023 virtual meeting, we present 6 short, lightning round presentations that showcase how libraries develop events and programs that promote mental wellness like therapy animals, meditation, yoga, and other forms of support for the community.

Lightning Round Presenters (6 presentations)- 10-15 mins each

1.      Holly Flynn, Michigan State University Libraries- Creating Community: The Library as a Safe Space After a Mass Trauma

2.     Michael Kahn, Bronx Community College, City University of New York- Mindfulness in the Library

3.     Lena Bonham, Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, Starting a Therapy Dog Program: a Practical Guide

4.    Justine Cotton, Brock University- A Wellness Book Club: Reading & Community

5.     Genevieve Innes, Rider University, Bibliotherapy for Mental Health and Wellness

6.  Nancy Demaris, Rowan University, Empowering Students on their Wellness Journey:  Mental Health Initiatives in the Library

About the ACRL LMOIG (Library Marketing & Outreach Interest Group):

Launched at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference, this interest group encourages regional meet ups around the U.S. as a central initiative. The ACRL National Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group has been created for Academic Librarians interested in Marketing and Outreach. This group is open to all. ACRL national membership is not required.

For more information, please see our Facebook presence at

Our meeting is open to all! ALA and/or ACRL membership is not necessary.

We look forward to seeing you at our virtual meeting!

Mark Aaron Polger, Co-Chair

Jessica Kiebler, Co-Chair