LACUNY Institute 2022

Our Keynote Speaker for this year’s LACUNY Institute 2022, which will be held virtually on May 12th & 13th, and will be hosted by the New York City College of Technology.Mariame Kaba is an organizer, educator, curator, and prison industrial complex (PIC) abolitionist who is active in movements for racial, gender, and transformative justice. Learn more about Mariame and her work:

Save the date for the conference and look for a full schedule next week. Registration will open on April 18th.

LACUNY Institute 2022 : “Built to Exclude: Confronting Issues of Equity and Otherness in Libraries.”

Inline image LACUNY

Library workers, patrons, and scholars are grappling with questions about what it means to have access, to belong, and to feel welcome and included. How do library environments and institutional norms–from the ways spaces are designed and collections are organized, to the language we use in classrooms and on digital platforms–potentially exclude historically marginalized populations or alienate patrons and workers with different cultural and racial, linguistic, and socio-economic backgrounds? How do conceptions of professionalism and issues of privilege, class, and power impact the experiences of library workers or present barriers to entry into our field? How can we confront encoded forms of discrimination that library workers and patrons face? Is it possible to transform institutional dynamics that are othering when we face bureaucratic obstacles, labor shortages, and austerity conditions? Who has the agency and resources to change library environments that are built to exclude?

Learn more about the Library Association of CUNY and past LACUNY Institutes:


Nora Almeida and Wanett Clyde, Co-Chairs

2022 LACUNY Institute Planning Committee

Planning Committee

Nora Almeida, New York City College of Technology
Wanett Clyde, New York City College of Technology

Matthew Dinero, City College

Dianne Gordon Conyers, LaGuardia Community College
Iris Finkel, Hunter College
Kel Karpinski, New York City College of Technology
Nanette Johnson, New York City College of Technology
Linda Miles, Hostos Community College
Ajatshatru Pathak, Hunter College
Mark Aaron Polger, College of Staten Island
Alexandra Rojas, LaGuardia Community College
Nelson Santana, Bronx Community College
Julie Turley, Kingsborough Community College