Greetings from the 2017 President!

Greetings from ACRL/NY!

In December, we held our annual symposium, this year on the theme of “Money and Power”. Our speakers addressed a broad spectrum of issues from archival labor to professional standards , inclusive instruction , vendor-library relationships , and more. Please see the related reports and essays from our scholarship winners for more perspectives on the day.

As chair of the 2016 symposium planning committee, I would like to acknowledge the fantastic commitment, flexibility, and collaborative work of the members of our committee, without whom the event could not have happened. All planning for the symposium is done on a volunteer basis, and all ACRL/NY members are welcome to join the committee. If you are interested in participating in the planning of the 2017 symposium, please contact this year’s chair, Thomas Keenan, at

The ACRL/NY officers for 2017 are:

President: Haruko Yamauchi, Eugenio Maria de Hostos Community College
Immediate Past President: Dianne Gordon Conyers, Laguardia Community College
Vice-President/President Elect: Thomas Keenan, Princeton University
Treasurer: Sharell Walker, Touro College
Treasurer-Elect: Joan Jocson-Singh, Lehman College
Recording Secretary: Carrie Marten, Purchase College
Membership Secretary: Werner Sbaschnik, SUNY Old Westbury                         Newsletter Editor: Elaine Provenzano, Manhattanville College
Legislative Liaison: Natalka Sawchuck, Iona College                                             Webmaster: John Schriner, Queensborough Community College

Monica Berger, New York City College of Technology
Natalka Sawchuck, Iona College
Eamon Tewell, Long Island University – Brooklyn

Discussion group and professional development leaders:

New Librarians – Linda Miles, Hostos Community College
Distance Learning – Tara King, St. John’s University
First Year Experience – Carl Andrews, Bronx Community College and Mark Aaron Polger, College of Staten Island
Information Literacy – Dianne Gordon Conyers, Laguardia Community College and Matthew Regan, Berkeley College
User Experience – Mark Aaron Polger, College of Staten Island
Management and Leadership – Thomas Keenan, Princeton University
Professional Development Committee – Kanu Nagra, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Research and Writing Support Group – Keith Muchowski, New York City College of Technology
Mentorship Program – Susanne Markgren, Manhattan College

We invite all our academic and research library colleagues in the NYC metro area to become members and take active part in ACRL/NY’s discussion groups, professional development programs, mentoring program, and research/writing support group. Learn more at  or contact me directly for more information. We look forward to seeing you in 2017!

Haruko Yamauchi

2017 ACRL/NY President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *