ACRL/NY offers three scholarship programs: the Student Scholarship, the Early Career Librarian Scholarship, and the Dr. Barbara Bonous-Smit Scholarship.

Scholarship Winners

Dr. Barbara Bonous-Smit Scholarship

Sarah PattonSarah Patton is a User Experience manager at the University at Buffalo Libraries. Having worked in special collections, public, and academic libraries, she has had the privilege to serve a wide range of patrons. In her current position, she champions the integration of user experience research and design to elevate the patron experience in both physical and digital library spaces.

Student Scholarships

jennacouttsJenna Coutts is an Information Studies student at McGill University and is currently working as a Reference Assistant with McGill University Libraries. Their previous studies include a B.A. and an M.A from the University of Manitoba in Religion. They aspire to work in an academic library in the role of liaison librarian to combine their passions for learning, teaching, and researching.


Erica Leslie Weidner is an MSLIS student at Pratt Institute graduating in spring 2024. Prior to beginning her MSLIS, she earned her BA in English from Fordham University. She currently works for the Pratt Institute Libraries access services department as a graduate assistant.


eleanor morganEleanor Morgan is a fledgling academic librarian interested in the process of cultural memory production through collection development and knowledge organization. She is working on a MLIS from Pratt Institute, where she is a Graduate Assistant for Reference and Collection Development at the Pratt Institute Libraries. She rejects classifications.

Early Career Scholarship

Lyndon Batiste is the Head of User Services for the Emory University Robert W. Woodruff Library in Atlanta, GA. A graduate of Morehouse College, Lyndon possesses a Master of Arts in Religious Studies from Beulah Heights University and a Master of Arts in Library and Information Studies from the University of Alabama with a social justice and inclusivity emphasis. Lyndon was recognized in 2020 by the American Library Association as a Spectrum Scholar and by ACRL as the Member of the Week. In 2021, Lyndon received the Association of Research Library’s Kaleidoscope Diversity Scholar Award, and in 2023 was selected to participate in Harvard University’s Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians.